The 10-rupee Note!

Ordinary life is a life barely lived. Because, a life without unexpected turns and twists and the subsequent ability to maneuver through, is not worthwhile. Most people simply accept the way things are and move on, not bothering to ponder awhile about these seemingly ‘ordinary’ things that come their way. They simply ignore them, thus failing in the potentiality to transform the ‘ordinary’ into an extraordinary something.

One such ‘ordinary’ thing that came our way, was a simple 10-rupee note. Read on if you are an animal lover.

One summer evening, while having tea, my father was counting some smaller denomination notes, precisely; 10-rupee notes and keeping them separately as change for emergencies, since in our present times, change-notes are hard to produce. I was reading a book and occasionally throwing cursory glances at the soiled notes father was so busily arranging, when all of a sudden, my eyes fell upon one particular 10-rupee note which seemed to have something written on it. Father also noticed it. The writing on the note seemed curiously small.  Father singled out the note and started to read it. Quite surprisingly, this was written on it:

I am totally heartbroken as my sweet cat Poali died in a road accident on February 23, 2016 between 11:25-11:40 pm.  My life is in serious jeopardy. I don’t know how I shall live without Poali since she was very close to my heart. Life is difficult without my cat, Poali.

We were dumbfounded and sat staring at it while the note fluttered in the wind. Father couldn’t seem to recall where and when he had received the note.  I read and re-read the note, flipped it over to check if the writer had jotted down anything else, but couldn’t find any. We assumed that it must have been a girl who was devastated by the sudden death of her beloved pet cat.10 rupee note

My entire family has some of the most ardent animal lovers in the world and this is no exaggeration. We have a history of cats and dogs as pets at home, around who revolved our world. And each time a pet died, we used to feel the same way as the writer of this heartrending note. The note kept me wondering how many hands it must have been passed on to. And how each time, the recipient must not have bothered to brood over it.

What a coincidence! The note had travelled all the way from someplace unknown and finally found a secure home in my father’s wallet. I wish I could reach out to this stranger and let her know that someone somewhere was saddened to know that her pet was no more. While it may seem ridiculous to many, I somehow instantly got attached to the note and resolved to keep it with me forever. Who knows, someday, somewhere, I might just meet the writer and return to her, what is rightfully hers.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

